Where are the 5 Official Blue Zones?


Blue Zones are regions around the world where people tend to live much longer than average. These areas have attracted attention from researchers studying longevity, health, and lifestyle factors. The term “Blue Zones” was coined by Michel Poulain, Dan Buettner, and Giovanni Mario Pes when investigating people around the world living longer and healthier lives. They identified five regions with the highest concentration of centenarians (people who live to be 100 years or older).

The five official Blue Zones are:

Okinawa, Japan:

An archipelago known for its healthy diet rich in vegetables, tofu, fish, and rice. Physical activity and strong social connections also contribute to the longevity of its residents.

Sardinia, Italy:

Particularly the mountainous region of Barbagia, where the traditional diet includes whole grains, legumes, goat’s milk, and red wine. Strong family ties and a sense of community are also integral to the lifestyle.

Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica:

This area has a diet centred around beans, corn, and squash, complemented by regular physical activity, strong social networks, and a sense of purpose.

Ikaria, Greece:

An island in the Aegean Sea where residents consume a Mediterranean diet rich in fruits, vegetables, olive oil, and herbal teas. Regular napping, strong social connections, and a relaxed lifestyle are also characteristic of this Blue Zone.

Loma Linda, California, USA:

This Blue Zone is unique in that it’s not a distinct geographic region but rather a community of Seventh-day Adventists who adhere to a vegetarian diet, prioritise exercise, and maintain strong social connections through their faith community.

Did you know that many Atrium clients have access to our fantastic nutrition services? 

Request a Nutrition Consultation with one of our expert nutritionists.